When applying filters to your data, results begin to yield a variety of new insights – insights you likely won't want to lose. You can save your filters to work on later, or reuse them with a different focus. One common use of this feature is segmentation. This article will show you how to save, update and manage Filtersets.

Saving a Filterset 

By default there are no filters applied in your workspace. Applying filters to your data can help you surface interesting results. You also have the option to save these customized filters for future use. 

Filter combinations are saved as a Filterset, accessible at the top of the Analysis page. A Filterset is composed of one or more filters, it can be as simple as a single Time Filter or as complex as multiple Record Filters used in conjunction with other filter types. 

In the example below, a Record Filter - City is set to include results only from New York City and is saved under the name "NYC".

Once the desired filter(s) have been set, click “Save Filterset” at the top of the workspace. Your Filterset will include all of the filters that have been applied in the workspace (Source, Record, Time, Sentiment and/or Search Filters). 

A popup will appear, prompting you to name your new Filterset and choose the desired visibility, private or public. If you select the private Filterset option, you will be the only person able to see it. The public Filterset option gives permission to anyone who has access to the organization. 

Updating a Filterset

You can easily update an existing Filterset if you want to modify the filter combination. In the example below we are working in the previously created NYC Filterset and we want to update this filter to include only Praises and change the visibility to Private.

If you want to make changes to the Filterset you are currently working in, simply apply or modify the desired filter(s) and save your changes. Select the Filterset you would like to update and select its visibility setting. 

Creating a new Filterset from an existing one

Instead of updating the Filterset you are currently using, once you make changes, you can keep the original as is AND create an entirely new Filterset that reflects the changes. 

In the example below we will be working with our NYC Filterset and we will add the City of San Francisco to a new Filterset.

Once the desired filter(s) have been set, click “Save Filterset”. Just as when you created the original NYC Filterset, name your new Filterset and choose the desired visibility. You will now have both the original Filterset you were working in and the new Filterset, letting you toggle between them with ease.

Managing Filtersets

On the Management page under Manage Filtersets, you will find a listing of all the Filtersets applicable to the organization including the owner and the visibility. 

You can edit the visibility or delete the Filterset that you created. If you wish to change the name of the Filterset select the pencil next to the Filterset name, edit  and save it. 

Returning to the Default setting (unfiltered data) 

If you wish to return to the unfiltered data setting, simply select “Default” from the Filterset listings. 

Did this answer your question?