Why do we need groups? 

When many different people provide feedback, their comments usually contain a wide variety of words and phrases to express the same idea. The AI technology behind the Keatext platform groups all these variations automatically to allow the user to save time. A group is a container for one or several Topics and Opinions that are synonymous, nearly synonymous or should be treated as such by Keatext.

The above example shows variations in the Opinions. Here, “dirty”, “filthy”, “stained”, “grubby”, “gross”, “not been cleaned” and even the misspelled “unclen” are all grouped together. Each group has a representative label, which in this case is “dirty”. The labels are chosen automatically based on frequency and other parameters, such as length. 

The user has control over both Topic groups and Opinion groups, which in turn affect how Comments are grouped. 

Topic and Opinion groups are ranked in order of comment count, showing a clear prioritization based on how widespread a specific Problem or Praise is.

Why customize groups?

In some instances, users may want to customize the analysis to further adapt and refine the results to suit their needs. There are several reasons why a user would choose to do this, including a need to reflect domain knowledge in the results, change the focus of the analysis, or tweak some visible errors. 

Groups can also reflect organizational knowledge—for example, a “unit” and an “apartment” may mean the same thing for an apartment leasing company. Your organization may also use abbreviations (such as CSR for customer service representative in call center transcripts or other documents.)

Can I use grouping to improve accuracy? 

For small tweaks, modifying groups can be quite powerful. However, for recurring issues with accuracy, it’s best to discuss this with your Keatext account manager to see if a retraining is a better option than tweaking groups. 

 Are the changes permanent?

Changes made by the user to groups can be reset. However, it’s important to note that if several users are part of the same organization, changes made by one user will be reflected for all users. The reset button returns all of the groups, for all of the users in the organization to default, so it’s best avoided if your organization has spent hours customizing its groups. You cannot undo this reset once it has been done.

How do I merge specific Topics or Opinions into a group?

If you wish to combine two or more Topics or Opinions because they represent the same concept, click on the Topics or Opinions links at the top right hand of your screen.

Once on the Topics or Opinions page, click on the selection box next to one or more results. This reveals the Merge functionality in the menu above the results list. 

In the screenshot above, we have selected "Home" and "House" since in the context of this dataset they express the same concept. After clicking Merge, you can choose to add the selected results to an existing group or create a new one. 

How do I manage groups? 

First, head to the Management page by clicking on the checklist icon in the navigation menu on the left of the screen. This page is used to manage Topic and Opinion Groups and Filtersets. Click on either Topic Groups or Opinion Groups. 

Use the search bar to find the group you’re looking for. 

Groups can be managed either by modifying the settings for a group individually or in bulk by selecting the checkboxes to the left of the groups and modifying numerous groups at the same time. The options are:

Dissolve Group - Permanently breaks a group down into individual words. This is a permanent change, so make sure everyone in the organization approves this change as it will affect all users. 

Merge Group - Combine two or more groups into one larger group.   

Inspecting group members

Click on a single group if you want to inspect each of its members. Members can also be managed. You can remove them from the group or move them to another group. 

Resetting groups

In the upper right corner, you’ll also see the “Reset Groups” button. Please be very very careful with this button! This will reset all of the groups that you manually modified to the groups that were formed automatically with Keatext’s AI technology. The reset is organization-wide, meaning if you reset, you reset for all the users in the organization. Once the reset is performed you will lose the manually modified groups permanently.

Did this answer your question?